Real Estate

OTTO construction delay - Countrywide

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 14th, 2017 10:44 am
[OP]
Sep 12, 2017
4 posts

OTTO construction delay - Countrywide

it's my first time buying pre-construction home. The first delivery date was Dec 2016. Now it has been delayed multiple times to Mar 2018. However, the construction of my block hasn't started yet. Given their current progress, I would expect the home to be ready by the end of 2018. A delay of almost 2-year was something I never heard before. Shall I be concerned? Are there any other home owners have the same thoughts?

The interest rates keep increasing. And the progress of home construction has been really slow. It will be outside of the home delivery period in the contract when they can potentially deliver my lot. I wonder if there is any legal implication behind this? and if there is anything I can do about it?

Anyone has similar experience in the past?
7 replies
Penalty Box
May 1, 2012
6466 posts
2808 upvotes
Markham
In your purchase agreement, there's a schedule on delays and completion dates. Refer to that to see when you are eligible for compensation.

As for what YOU can do right now, well there are a few things you can do:
1. Talk to your lawyer and he'll tell you what I told you.
2. Interest rates are rising but there's nothing you can do. You can always try locking something in for 6 months before when you think you'll close, but that's a big IF.
3. You can opt out of your purchase if you are so inclined. The purchase agreement you signed isn't so much to buy a piece of land, as it is to agree to buy a unit from a company.
4. I would probably complain to Countrywide, a lot... they may give you some free upgrades. Just beware that sometimes they give you some stuff and make you sign something that forfeits your TARION delay payments. Don't do that, read the stuff they make you sign.