• Sep 14th, 2017 12:10 pm
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
15841 posts
4730 upvotes
Ottawa
wirebound wrote:
Sep 7th, 2017 1:16 pm
But you do seem to have issues since you think taking a legally rightful parental leave is 'pulling a fast one' on the employer.
Yes, I do becuase it's not an unexpected leave of absence.
Deal Addict
Dec 21, 2011
3222 posts
571 upvotes
London
vkizzle wrote:
Sep 7th, 2017 1:54 pm
Yes, I do becuase it's not an unexpected leave of absence.
But its a right of the employee and they are exercising it. I get what you're saying about the resources involved however as a hiring manager I'd never resent an employee for exercising that right. That's just wasted emotions, these programs are in place for a reason.

I also don't give medals for those who don't leverage the programs we have in place if they qualify for them.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
15841 posts
4730 upvotes
Ottawa
snow00774 wrote:
Sep 7th, 2017 3:16 pm
But its a right of the employee and they are exercising it. I get what you're saying about the resources involved however as a hiring manager I'd never resent an employee for exercising that right. That's just wasted emotions, these programs are in place for a reason.

I also don't give medals for those who don't leverage the programs we have in place if they qualify for them.
My experience hasn't been positive and it's not directly related to mat leave.
Good thing I only have to deal with two direct reports; versus an entire department.
[OP]
Sep 4, 2017
2 posts
DiceMan wrote:
Sep 6th, 2017 10:53 pm
Yeah, I got downvotes for my original response Confused Face. So here's some more downvote fodder.