• Sep 19th, 2008 8:56 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Sep 16, 2008
168 posts
9 upvotes

To pay back OSAP loans now or later?

I graduated in June 2008. Graduation gifts, some savings, and my summer job netted me enough money to pay back my undergraduate OSAP (student loan for school) loan. The amount of the loan is approx. 20K.

The cash is currently sitting in the bank account (ING) earning interest.

I started graduate studies this month and my OSAP loan is "in-study" status meaning that I have no interest charges on my account while I am in full time studies. So I don't have to start paying back the loan until two years from now when I finish my masters. I am not taking any further loans for graduate study.

OK. So that was the background. Here is the dilemma.

My mum is worried about what might happen in Canada given the current state of affairs with the buyout of those financial institutions in the US. So she's encouraging me to pay back the loan right now so I have no debt and I would not have to worry about any unforeseen trouble, whatever that may be.

On the other hand, that means I lose the interest I can be earning for the next two years. She is thinking if something does happen to our financial institutions here in this country and I lose access to my money then what do I do? Can it happen? Can CDIC really insure my money? Could the lenders behind OSAP all of a sudden insist immediate repayment of their loans even if I am still in school? What should I do...
7 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 14, 2006
1755 posts
173 upvotes
Kitchener
You're in school and your loans are in interest-free status? Why pay them off now...

Keep your money in your savings account and pay it off the day you finish your Masters studies. CDIC will cover your savings up to C$100,000 in the extremely unlikely event that ING goes belly up.