• Last Updated:
  • Jul 8th, 2018 10:54 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Mar 16, 2015
1384 posts
210 upvotes

Paying myself salary only once a year. CRA sent a letter

I have an incorporation ( I am an IT consultant). I do not have much need of money so I only withdraw salary once a year( or twice max)
I know that I have risk of being classified as PSB, what I do is , I withdraw approx 80% to 85% of revenues as Salary in one shot in the last month of my financial year and I pay the tax remmitances to CRA immediately.
Now CRA sent me a letter that thjey reviewed last year's account and they found out that my average monthly withholding amount ( AMWA) is $25000 or more so they think that I might need to remit more frequently in 2019.
They sent a form to fill asking me how frequently I pay to my employees. The options are weekly, bi weekly, monthly, twice a week and Yearly...
What do you suggest I go from here. I just do not take money out every month as I do not need it and I do not want to deal with more frequent remittances etc.. hence one or two times a year is max I am thinking to pay myself( I am only employee)...
Should I just mark the yearly option and they will be satisfied or it might raise a red flag on my corporation. They might think that what kind of company is it that only pays its employees once a month. This might trigger a bigger review and classification as PSB also.
However , if I chose to select Monthly( can take monthly salary if it helps) , they might think why I did not pay every month last year ( although I did not take salary every month but the option does not specify that they are asking this for going forward)
Any suggestions?
3 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 5, 2009
2582 posts
708 upvotes
Newmarket