Shopping Discussion

Locked: PC Optimum Discussion Thread (formerly PC Plus)

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 19th, 2019 9:14 am
Dec 7, 2016
106 posts
35 upvotes
I've been collecting PC points with my debit card since the program started. I used thousands of them about 5 yrs ago to buy gift cards to buy a big screen tv. Now i have about $215. worth that have taken me years to accumulate. Since PC is now Simpli and so many things have changed, the debit cards no longer let you get points for your cloth grocery bags that you use. I learned this today. If I get a PC Fin. Mastercard I can then get points for my cloth bags. Well that means another credit card and another monthly bill all for not that many points. I have one of the red PC Plus cards that lets me get points at No Frills gas bar but that's all the good it does me.

I have a BMO air miles Mastercard that is of much better use to me so I really dont want yet another credit card. It's just not that important to me. So, I cant buy gift cards with my accumulated points anymore, I can use them for groceries or in Superstore where they have a variety of other items like clothes, electronics etc. which I dont actually want to buy there. I wish I'd known this change was going to happen and I'd have bought gift cards while I could have with my points. It probably was there in the fine print somewhere but I didnt see it.

I'm just venting because I'm really annoyed about this.
Deal Addict
Jun 19, 2015
1289 posts
1508 upvotes
The "no gift cards" for PC points was a long time ago....
Dec 7, 2016
106 posts
35 upvotes
Yes I know that now. It ended 6 mos or so ago, so the rep on the phone said. I did not know that til today as I was saving my points to buy something substantial, but now that's not going to happen. I may use my $215 worth of points at SuperStore for Xmas presents and then be done with it. I'd rather have air miles from my mastercard than be pushed into a PC Fin. credit card I dont want or need.
Deal Expert