• Oct 21st, 2017 8:08 am
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2008
3764 posts
1210 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
Kiraly wrote:
Aug 10th, 2017 1:10 pm
I've been doing this for four months now and the offers still suck. This week I get:

12% off Haagen Dazs ice cream (1,200 points for every $6 spent, No Frills sells these for $5, so gotta buy two to get any points at all)
10% off avocados, onions, spinach, frozen seafood, PC granola bars
<10% off No Name cheese bars (500 points on an item that sells for more than $5)

The only thing on this list I am planning on buying this week are avocados. Might save 40¢.

These offers are very similar to what I am getting every week. Pathetic!
Do you do the bulk of your shopping at No Frills/other discount? I am mostly shopping at Zehrs and my offers are generally 20%.
Deal Guru
Jan 7, 2002
10283 posts
3186 upvotes
Waterloo, ON
lecale wrote:
Aug 10th, 2017 1:45 pm
Do you do the bulk of your shopping at No Frills/other discount? I am mostly shopping at Zehrs and my offers are generally 20%.
I generally get 20% off on vegetables, however in general Zehrs, Valu-Mart and even Superstore are more than 20% more expensive on produce than some of their local competitors. At least on that stuff the PC points saves me the extra travel to those other stores.

The best deals on PC points are usually on stuff that has a bonus offer and happens to be on sale that week. Being able to defer bonus offers for a couple of weeks lets determined shoppers wait for sales on discretionary offers.
veni, vidi, Visa
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2008
3764 posts
1210 upvotes
Cambridge, ON
bylo wrote:
Aug 10th, 2017 2:02 pm
I generally get 20% off on vegetables, however in general Zehrs, Valu-Mart and even Superstore are more than 20% more expensive on produce than some of their local competitors. At least on that stuff the PC points saves me the extra travel to those other stores.