• Last Updated:
  • Dec 25th, 2008 7:06 pm
Tags:
None
May 10, 2008
84 posts
toronto

Peel and stick tiles

I found a peel and stick tile that would look decent in my 6" x 8" washroom and want to know if peel and stick is an okay option. It's from Rona Lansing -Quickstyle Millenia 1.2mm 12"x12".

I'd originally started out looking at sheet vinyl but haven't found anything at HD, Rona, Lowe's in the right colour or that I like for my washroom. Budget is tight, but I also want something that I won't have problems with or have to replace in a couple of years.

So - is the peel and stick okay, or should I stick with sheet vinyl? Anyone used Millenia? Should I put extra adhesive down with the peel and stick (one guy at Rona said yes, another no?!).

Would appreciate any help as I'm a newbie to vinyl tiles and will be doing the work myself.
7 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 9, 2003
3771 posts
231 upvotes
Calgary
Base floor must be clean, dust free, very smooth (fill in all seams between plywood) well screwed down etc. It is amazing how these seemingly rigid tiles will show every blemish in the subfloor.

I say do not put down extra adhesive
Deal Expert
Aug 9, 2004
21622 posts
257 upvotes
Mississauga
Peel and stick is fine, and I wouldnt use extra adhesive, as it might be hard to predict how the 2 adhesives react to each other.

Peel and stick is easy to do, which is nice. My wife put some in at a cottage we were selling on Lake Erie. A very affordable and neat way to spruce up a kitchen / bathroom, kind of like pergo. But if I had a house of any value and I'd go with something a little more high end.
Thanks for the memories, RFD.
Good-bye.
Deal Addict
Nov 18, 2005
4037 posts
598 upvotes
Kitchener