Careers

PEO with only College Diploma

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 4th, 2018 11:12 pm
[OP]
May 13, 2018
3 posts

PEO with only College Diploma

I am currently looking into getting my Peng as my boss has been nudging me to get it. Unfortunately with a family it is difficult to apply to university and work full time. I have a 3 year diploma from college locally.

I contacted the PEO office and aside from telling me it is possible, they do not really give any advice over the phone till they get your take your money. From their licencing guide it states:

"Specific Examination Program. Applicants whose academic
qualifications are judged by PEO to fall between those of
a technology diploma and those of an engineering degree
will be assigned a SEP. This program may consist of up to
18 examinations and would include basic, technical and
complementary examinations plus an engineering thesis.
Basic Studies examinations are a prerequisite and must be
addressed first."

My question would be has anyone gone through this path? What was the process like? How many exams you had to write (total)? How many exams should I write per year? any tips in general?

Thank you
11 replies
Mar 6, 2010
718 posts
79 upvotes
I do not think PEO will award anyone P.Eng with college diploma only. You need an undergraduate degree to start the application. The exams are called for foreign degree holder that did not graduate from a CEAB accredited program. You can go with the P.Tech route which can also seal certain drawings I believe.
[OP]
May 13, 2018
3 posts
It is definitely possible. As long as its a 3 year Technology diploma (technologist).
Deal Expert
Oct 26, 2003
28850 posts
2098 upvotes
Winnipeg
let us know how it goes
Jul 15, 2009
159 posts
60 upvotes
Edmonton
conq26 wrote:
May 14th, 2018 1:26 pm
It is definitely possible. As long as its a 3 year Technology diploma (technologist).