Yeah, it's pure scam.. Ask where delivery is to.. probably Nigeria. 200$ over asking = scam, no doubt.
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 08:46 AM #1
Please help, this e-mail makes me nervous
First let me say that i am advertising this phone for $400, HERE
I need some advice....Please
Here is the e-mail:
"Hello
Will you sell this item to me for the sum of $600.00,USD,this also covers the postage & insurance charges for delivery abroad. Payment would be effected upon your response. Can you please provide your PayPal account email address if you are interested in selling this item to me so that i can remit your Account . My personal email address is ( jsteven2008@gmail.com) for further correspondence in regards to the sale of this item. I am serious with this as i promise not let you down with the purchase of the item if you can give this offer to me for a consideration.
Please no game...........Your prompt response would be highly appreciated.
i `ill be hoping to read back from you soon.
John Steven
Regards."
-
Sponsored Links - Join the RedFlagDeals.com community and remove this ad.
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 08:48 AM #2_______________
|\|egZero |/\|as |-|ere
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 08:57 AM #3
Thanks
That's what i was thinking cause i already had two other offer from overseas ( 1 from Nigeria and the other person said Africa not sure where in Africa) Either way they both offered to pay for the shipping on top of the price. Now this person sent me an e-mail for +200 over what i was asking i just don't know it really makes me feel like there is something super fishy about any of them.
I've spent most of the morning Googling pay pal frauds and read that even on paypal you can get screwed, not sure how but i know it possible.
I think ill just stick with a local deal. Thanks
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 09:00 AM #4Deal Fanatic




- Join Date
- Oct 11th, 2006
- Location
- Georgetown, ON
- Posts
- 7,745
- Thanked 72 times for 26 posts
- BST Feedback: 23 (100%)
http://www.redflagdeals.com/forums/s...d.php?t=643370
I just posted this last night....similar issue_______________
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 09:02 AM #5Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Feb 21st, 2006
- Posts
- 4,601
- Thanked 3,393 times for 256 posts
- BST Feedback: 1 (100%)
spam spam 100% spam
Local deals are your best bet, You are advertising in the local section of your town and that should be where the transaction happens. It protects you and it protects the buyer where they are able to physically see the item and make sure its what they want before they hand over money.._______________
�I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it
Smile... It confuses people�
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 09:08 AM #6Deal Fanatic




- Join Date
- May 12th, 2008
- Location
- Toronto
- Posts
- 6,537
- Thanked 67 times for 51 posts
- BST Feedback: 8 (100%)
That response has too many grammatical errors...it wouldn't be an issue but they're writing it so formally.
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 12:09 PM #7Sr. Member



- Join Date
- Oct 28th, 2006
- Location
- East Scarborough
- Posts
- 973
- Thanked 10 times for 9 posts
- BST Feedback: 48 (100%)
definitely a scam. I was extremely stupid enough to fall for one of them (eBay) but i'm glad that the phone i sent was slightly broken so i didn't lose much.
_______________
+Located in Scarborough - Morningside and Old Finch to be exact
+DRmaullon@gmail.com
Ebay Feedback
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 12:10 PM #8
Heres his update
----Me----
"Hi John,
Just a quick question where would i be sending this too if i am to mail it to you?"
-----His Response---
Am located in the state but i want you to ship the item to one of my store in west Africa ship abroad.
---------
This seems to be a growing trend this is the 4th or 5th offer i have had now since posting this from people that claim to be buying for anyone and everyone under the sun but it seems everybody lives in Africa now a days. Wonder what this big scam is with the Africa Deal.
-
Oct 2nd, 2008 04:23 PM #9Deal Fanatic




- Join Date
- Feb 15th, 2006
- Location
- Scarborough
- Posts
- 5,660
- Thanked 28 times for 28 posts
- BST Feedback: 96 (100%)
I think you guys should read the stories on some site called the "Scambaiters", I don't remember the exact link, but after you read the stuff, you'll be well educated about these kinds of scams.
That way, you wouldn't waste your time wondering.
-
Oct 5th, 2008 05:34 PM #10Sr. Member



- Join Date
- Jan 7th, 2006
- Location
- Markham
- Posts
- 714
- Thanked 1 time for 1 post
- BST Feedback: 13 (100%)
-
Oct 6th, 2008 11:29 PM #11Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Oct 13th, 2005
- Posts
- 3,783
- Thanked 19 times for 16 posts
- BST Feedback: 191 (100%)
It's a pure scam. Why would anyone offer more than your asking price? And if you accepted more than asking and rejected previous commitments then that makes you a bad seller.
On RFD you have to trust our BST Feedback or Heatware. Do your research and investigate everyone then negotiate a payment method if you're not in the same city. Generally, the RFDer with less Feedback ships first / pays first -- that's part of the benefit/responsibility of earning a high feedback.
-
Oct 6th, 2008 11:46 PM #12Deal Fanatic




- Join Date
- Nov 16th, 2004
- Location
- Toronto
- Posts
- 8,326
- Thanked 36 times for 16 posts
- BST Feedback: 13 (100%)
I read the first half of the first sentence ... scam.
_______________
"Deal of the Day" addict
-
Oct 8th, 2008 06:05 PM #13Sr. Member



- Join Date
- Jan 23rd, 2008
- Posts
- 534
- BST Feedback: 33 (97%)
They pay you $600 for a $400 sale, and require that you send them the difference back via cheque? Sounds like money laundering among other things. Don't do it you are baiting yourself for trouble.
-
Oct 12th, 2008 09:34 PM #14
-
Oct 12th, 2008 11:59 PM #15Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Jul 18th, 2005
- Posts
- 2,825
- Thanked 8 times for 5 posts
- BST Feedback: 32 (100%)
The right decision.
If it sounds like a scam.. smells like a scam...
It is probably a scam
Search Forums
Reply With Quote


