Students

Pls: Grade 10 or 11 for international student?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 5th, 2018 11:31 am
[OP]
Apr 30, 2018
28 posts
2 upvotes

Pls: Grade 10 or 11 for international student?

Hi everyone,

my friend's daughter expect to apply for international student to Ontario. Her birthday is 2002.12.31, and she will be in Grade 10's 1st semester in this September in China. And she wants to apply for the 2nd semester of Grade 10 in Ontario. But, she was told she can only take Grade 11, instead of Grade 10 here in Ontario. If so, she will miss her 2nd semester of Grade 10 and 1st semester of Grade 11.

Anyone met this kind of situation, or have comments on this?

Thanks in advance!
James
8 replies
Jun 4, 2018
1 posts
Ontario
I'm just a student but I don't know if switching in the middle of a grade is that feasible because you might miss credits and such. Can't she finish Grade 10 in China and then go to Ontario and start Grade 11?
Jun 10, 2015
262 posts
47 upvotes
Mississauga, ON
Why doesn't she just finish HS there and apply to University after?

I hear it is easy to cheat and get good grades. She can do that as opposed to fighting for grades here and suffering (poor english grades for example).

EDIT:

Just realized this post can be construed negatively. Not intended to be. I'm genuinely curious.
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2015
3282 posts
2230 upvotes
howdydo wrote:
Jul 31st, 2018 6:59 am
Why doesn't she just finish HS there and apply to University after?

I hear it is easy to cheat and get good grades. She can do that as opposed to fighting for grades here and suffering (poor english grades for example).

EDIT:

Just realized this post can be construed negatively. Not intended to be. I'm genuinely curious.
Never heard that before... Quite the opposite.. I thought it's super competitive in Chinese schools... So much so that students resort to cheating to just have a fighting chance to make it into a university.