Principal Residence and Renting Out: Condo vs. Furnished Basement

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 14th, 2018 2:54 pm
Oct 19, 2005
639 posts
40 upvotes

Principal Residence and Renting Out: Condo vs. Furnished Basement

Folks,

I'm looking at potentially purchasing my first Real Estate Property and curious what your advice might be in regards to using the Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) for Capital Gains.
Here are the options:

My objective
Optimize my return on money by buying a place that will appreciate and enable me to potentially sell it down the line. I dont have any particular timelines (no family) and happy to sell in 2 years or 8 years.

My situation
I'm a consultant and work 80% of time in the states - US employee in fact. The 20% + Weekends I intend to come back to Toronto maybe 80% of time. Have a girlfriend here so could potentially stay with her when I am here. I am currently renting downtown Toronto for $1700 a 1+1 spot w/ parking for which market rate is about $2,200. So I am thinking maybe my gf could move into my place where I am now

Option 1
Purchase Condo and Rent it out immediately - can delay rent out if needed for tax purposes in order to qualify for the PRE. I am thinking if I can rent out the condo for lucrative amount vis-a-vis my mortgage payments then I can basically stay in my current rented suite. My girlfriend could move into my current place and I could transfer lease I guess into her name as 4 days a week I am in the states. I know there is some "Four year exemption" whereby I dont need to inhabit it but can still claim the PRE.

Option 2