Careers

Is the private sector much harder than the public (specifically I.T)?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 13th, 2016 12:12 pm
Nov 25, 2013
247 posts
77 upvotes
Scarborough, ON

Is the private sector much harder than the public (specifically I.T)?

I got a degree in Computer Science, and my first related job was in a government I.T Department.
Overall its a pretty chill place - rather boring, and with the office politics and a few alpha wannabes... but overall chill.

Contrast to this, my sister, who has had 3 jobs in the private sector (contracts of a few months each). And she considered them hell. Same field, same degree.
I have one more acquaintance who had one hellish job (according to him) in the private sector and one that was okay.

Now the sample size is too small to reliably draw conclusions - but is there a wide gulf in 'hecticness' or generally psychological stress being higher in the private sector than public?

I would expect some degree of difference, but Im unsure of how big it is. Please share your observations/experiences.
14 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 1, 2013
2126 posts
1449 upvotes
Durham
When a Public sector employee gets stressed, its easily alleviated when they remember their pension. At least thats what happens with my wife lol
Banned
Mar 7, 2007
5347 posts
3026 upvotes
I have had a chance to work for both. I hated public service. So much happier working in the private sector. That's just me.

Sometimes, contractors get mistreated because of their temporary status... I know some banks don't treat IT contractors the same that they treat regular employees (I'm trying to say it nicely). Also, I know contractors that are quite happy doing what they do (even at the banks, for example). It depends on the team, on the manager, and your personality.
13006 posts
10009 upvotes
Edmonton