[OP]
Deal Guru
Aug 2, 2010
14442 posts
4240 upvotes
Here 'n There
Rothesay wrote:
Apr 10th, 2015 10:59 am
I think what you have here is very solid. However, I'm not very good with legal language, I am thinking whether the language would allow for a flat fee under a certain amount.

So using your example, on a $1 Million listing, if sale price is under $1M, would the propose changes allows for the owner compensate the listing agent for a fixed fees and for offers over $1M, it will be Fix Fees + 2.5%
Yes.

S.36(1), which is presently in force, allows a flat fee or % of the total sale price or both.

My proposed S.36(1)(b) would allow flat fee or % of the total sale price above a certain amount or both. You pick the amount where % commission starts at and pay the % commission on the difference between that amount and the sale price (and any flat fee if agreed).

So under my proposal and the example if the agent doesn't even get the $1M listing price (and that's the amount you agreed that the commission would start from) he gets no % commission, but would get the flat fee if that had been agreed upon when the property was listed.
Deal Addict
Jan 4, 2009
3782 posts
1627 upvotes
on the links
eonibm wrote:
Apr 10th, 2015 10:41 am
Please get lost.
I can voice my opinion just like anyone else, or are you just looking for cheerleaders/zealots to pat you on the back?

You're just a greedy 1%er who wants to sell your Rosedale mansion and pocket as much $$$ as possible, nothing more. Don't wrap it up and tie it in a bow as a "worthy" cause.
Banned
Nov 1, 2014
4317 posts
555 upvotes
Toronto, ON
While I see what you are trying to do...I don't think your argument has any merit