Deal Addict
Mar 13, 2003
2788 posts
323 upvotes
Alberta
hebrewhammer wrote:
Oct 16th, 2017 11:40 pm
Here's a question:
Lets say dealership "X" gives me the lowest price (through emails), do I give the other dealerships what dealership "X" quoted me, or do I let them play cat and mouse?
up to you
Jul 16, 2016
15 posts
2 upvotes
So I sent out 10 emails this morning (to all local and some non-local I'm willing to drive to). Offered invoice + 3%. Sent ten emails this morning, got two replies. One wanted all the info on my trade-in (which I gave) and nothing else, the other said that my offer (invoice + 3%) isn't good enough, since that only leaves him with $800 profit.

Should I wait for more replies? Or should I reply to the $800 guy? What should I reply? I've never done this before haha, and I don't want to screw it up.

Thanks!
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
16278 posts
4932 upvotes
Ottawa
teneues wrote:
Oct 18th, 2017 10:14 pm
So I sent out 10 emails this morning (to all local and some non-local I'm willing to drive to). Offered invoice + 3%. Sent ten emails this morning, got two replies. One wanted all the info on my trade-in (which I gave) and nothing else, the other said that my offer (invoice + 3%) isn't good enough, since that only leaves him with $800 profit.

Should I wait for more replies? Or should I reply to the $800 guy? What should I reply? I've never done this before haha, and I don't want to screw it up.

Thanks!
Tell him invoice + 3.5%, but extra $1000 towards your trade-in.
The more he squeezes you, the more you add to your trade-in. Lol
Jul 16, 2016
15 posts
2 upvotes
vkizzle wrote:
Oct 19th, 2017 7:39 am
Tell him invoice + 3.5%, but extra $1000 towards your trade-in.
The more he squeezes you, the more you add to your trade-in. Lol
Thanks! Ended up making the deal at a slightly higher price, still took $2k off MSRP which was my goal, so I'm happy.
Nov 29, 2011
231 posts
188 upvotes
RICHMOND HILL
plymouthhater wrote:
Sep 19th, 2017 8:03 am