Home & Garden

Pylex adjustable screw pile...anyone have experience with this product?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 14th, 2017 2:56 pm
Tags:
None
Oct 8, 2017
8 posts
1 upvote
Joist tape does also stop it from creaking. Yeah tighten em down that should do it for sure. Im also using 2 by 8s as decking so they wont move even if the screws arent tight.
Deal Guru
Nov 18, 2005
10431 posts
1896 upvotes
Kingston
MattyS036804 wrote:
Oct 9th, 2017 6:29 pm

Built a whole deck using pylex. Used a few more than necessary to be safe but worked perfectly.
Way better than using sonitubes and will last forever. Watch the video. Shows every step of the way.
MattyS036804 wrote:
Oct 11th, 2017 9:10 am
Its deck joist tape to protect the tops. This deck will last 40 years!
I'm not a pro but have built a couple of substantial decks that have passed building inspection. I'm not saying this just to be critical, but I hope no one follows your approach/advice. I assume that you didn't get design approval or inspection from your municipality because there are a lot of obvious problems with the build (misuse of joist hangers, wrong joist hanger fasteners, ledger board screwed into bricks, misuse of deck screws in rim joists, unsupported deck board ends, joist/"beam" structure is a mess).

Use of pylex may be OK. I hope it works out for you but I would not recommend anyone follow your approach.
Oct 8, 2017
8 posts
1 upvote
Buddy you are completely off. Those hanger are right it is the right screw and the ledger board is ibetween bricks. And everything is to code and it was inspected. The beams changed a little during construction since i decided to use 2 by 8s as decking half way through but sure a jello this is done perfectly. I feel like youve never built anything and are just trolling. Ive also had a few deck builders come by and everyone is raving about it.
Deal Addict
Dec 17, 2007
1270 posts
430 upvotes
Alliston, ON
MattyS036804 wrote:
Oct 12th, 2017 9:05 am