• Last Updated:
  • Jul 29th, 2016 9:33 pm
Tags:
None
Apr 27, 2009
2 posts
Ontario

Question about Ontario labour law - re: employee resignation

Is there actually a legal binding for employees in Ontario that said he/she must provide advance notice of resignation a certain number of weeks in advance?

To make the story short, I have recently resigned from a company that I have been working for close to 7 years now. And now after almost a month, my previous employer is complaining that I was not very cooperative in helping him transition to me not being there and that I was only providing the company one week notice. He claim that the law says that I must gave 2 weeks advance notice, and he also claim that in the past I have signed an agreement which basically says I will provide 9 weeks advance notice. I have to admit I was naive and was practically forced to sign that agreement, which in my opinion makes the whole agreement not very valid.

According to this HRDC website (the link is here), if I understand correctly as an employee there isn't even a law that states that I have to even give advance notice under normal circumstances.

So yea if anyone can give me a proper understanding of the law it would be appreciated. Because to be honest the "requests" for assistance that my previous employer has been asking is bordering into absurd.
10 replies
Deal Expert
May 17, 2008
15134 posts
152 upvotes
I don't think that there any laws that can force you to work for any period of time.

It would be hard for anyone to judge the validity of that contract you signed saying you would give 9 weeks notice, but it would be similar in that you can't ever be forced to work for anyone. There could be civil penalties for breaking the contract though, so it is probably ideal to check that contract out with a Lawyer if possible.
Feb 11, 2009
291 posts
8 upvotes
You're right -- the employee has no legal obligation to provide their employer two weeks notice, or any notice at all.