Careers

Questions on... Graphic & Web Design Post-Secondary Options & Careers

Jun 18, 2006
14 posts
1 upvote

Questions on... Graphic & Web Design Post-Secondary Options & Careers

I'm Currently in highschool, and I'm starting to wonder about my post-secondary options. My field of interest in graphic designing, webpage designing, animations, etc... I talked to a lot of people and they all said the same story: graphic designers go to colleges. My teacher, especially, recommended the this college. After a short googling and websites search, I realized George Brown does seem like they have an extensive graphic design program.

However, I have very little knowledge on postsecondary options, programs, and whatnots, so I was just wondering if anyone have any opinions as to which college or university to go to.

As a matter of fact... is graphic designing even a good career? My concerns are that they are already way-too-much graphic designers out there, which will lead to a great deal of competition.

some questions...

1. University (which one)/ College (which one) for graphic design programs?
2. Useful courses to take in grade 11/12 to prepare for graphic design...
3. Career examples or job examples from graphics design program...

Any input/opinions will be very helpful ; )
27 replies
Sep 21, 2005
170 posts
15 upvotes
Hey,

We kinda have something in common here!!! I love graphic design but im prolly gonna go to a advertising program when i graduate from Univ. I find graphic design doesn't offer many job opportunies where as advertising you can do media buys etc.

If you are the type of person who prefers hands on experience then i suggest you to go to college. University teaches you theories and doesnt have any production work except Concordia Univ in Montreal. Their communication program is one of the best in Ontario.