[OP]
Deal Addict
May 10, 2003
2553 posts
2 upvotes
GTA

Questions re: Civic 2006 care

I was wondering re: Civic 2006

1. When jumping cables, the dealer told me about being careful about jumping cables between cars (ie. charing one car battery via the other) but I've never done it before, so I didn't get everything that he said. He said something about the alternator being at risk of damage if I hooked up the cables after I started the car. Any ideas what he might've meant?

2. the mp3 CD-player: does it play CD-RW's?

I'll add to this thread as more Q's come up :)

Thanks
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 13, 2005
7766 posts
161 upvotes
what that person mentioned to you is a general rule of thumb when boosting you shouldnt leave both cars idleing when the jumper cables are attached it could damage the car's computer.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 6, 2005
5780 posts
797 upvotes
espeed wrote:I was wondering re: Civic 2006

1. When jumping cables, the dealer told me about being careful about jumping cables between cars (ie. charing one car battery via the other) but I've never done it before, so I didn't get everything that he said. He said something about the alternator being at risk of damage if I hooked up the cables after I started the car. Any ideas what he might've meant?

2. the mp3 CD-player: does it play CD-RW's?

I'll add to this thread as more Q's come up :)

Thanks
For #2 I don't actually know but try it! If it's not compatible then it will just say Disc Error. Seems to me that it should have no problem though since it is an mp3 one, but you never know cause previous regular Honda players never played CD-RW.
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
32828 posts
7071 upvotes
Ottawa
espeed wrote:I was wondering re: Civic 2006

Thanks
When trying to assist another vehicle to start or using your vehicle to start another using jumper cables, my frst response is not to do it.
Several reasons,
1. if done improperly you can do serious damage to your computer.