Automotive

Recommendation for Subwoofer & Amp - Audio Enthusiasts Help!

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 26th, 2016 12:45 pm
Jun 22, 2009
309 posts
187 upvotes
Toronto

Recommendation for Subwoofer & Amp - Audio Enthusiasts Help!

Complete noob when it comes to car audio. I have an Audi A5 with the Bang & Olufsen sound system. The system sounds great but it doesn't have enough bass for me. I'm looking to add in only a 12" subwoofer and an amp but don't need something too extreme. Just a cheap set up that will give me more bass (doesn't have to shake houses while I pass by on the street).

Any recommendations on a cheap set up? Not looking to spend too much
27 replies
Deal Fanatic
Sep 16, 2004
9779 posts
2050 upvotes
Toronto
Not an enthusiast but Hi Fonics amps are pretty good bang for the buck.

Possibly more wisely available might be MTX and Fosgate as well.

Not sure about Subwoofers but there's the usual suspects like JL Audio,Kicker,Alpine,Clarion etc.

Certainly even cheaper can be had at Flea Markets, brands like Pyramid and Pyle but I figure in this case you get what you pay for.
Jun 22, 2009
309 posts
187 upvotes
Toronto
I read a bunch of forums where people replaced the stock sub with the Pioneer TS-W261D4:
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... /TS-W261D4

I know doing a straight switch won't make a huge difference. Do you guys think i should get that and power it with an amp? That sub can be bough for about $50 USD which is super cheap. If you guys think powering that with an amp is a smart idea can anybody recommend the right amp for that?
Oct 15, 2008
174 posts
75 upvotes
Windsor