• Last Updated:
  • Mar 20th, 2017 6:23 pm
[OP]
Oct 21, 2013
223 posts
18 upvotes
North

Renewal with GoDaddy

I've been using Godaddy for a couple of years and my domain is up for renewal. Now the price is CAD$20+tax for a year which is too high.
Couldn't find any coupons online. Any other alternatives you guys recommend which is cheaper?
14 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 29, 2012
1429 posts
664 upvotes
Richmond
Same here. I've been transferring my GoDaddy domains to Namecheap.com. They're not the absolute cheapest, but I've been using them without problems for years. You might want to check out Google Domains too, esp. if you want cheap domain privacy.

Namecheap is US $9.69 including free domain privacy for the first year when you transfer a domain, US $10.69 per year (optionally +$2.88 for privacy) on renewal.
Last edited by Faith24 on Mar 17th, 2017 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Deal Addict
Mar 20, 2004
2847 posts
218 upvotes
Mississauga
Try rebel.com
I've seen them advertise before, never tried it.
I'm also thinking of transferring .ca domain to them.
Deal Addict
Aug 3, 2014
3025 posts
1181 upvotes
I don't "renew" domains. I transfer them between different registrars.
Transferring adds 1 year. It is cheaper. If there is a promotion, even better.
Charging more for renewals clearly shows that domain registrars don't give a shit about customer loyalty.

Namecheap is expensive too.
Transfer between GoDaddy, 1and1, Hover, Rebel.com, WHC.ca.
Feb 25, 2009
471 posts
78 upvotes
Montreal
I'm in the same boat. I have about 5-6 domains, now it becomes expensive at 20$/year. It seems that Namecheap has good reputation?
Deal Expert
Aug 18, 2005
16648 posts
1674 upvotes
GTA West
Namecheap, NameSilo, Gandi are all good choices.

Gandi is a little more expensive but I have had amazing help from their support people.
- Not Collecting AIR MILES Since 2016/07 -
- Casual Gastronomist -
Deal Addict
Aug 3, 2014
3025 posts
1181 upvotes
Jucius Maximus wrote:
Mar 18th, 2017 8:23 pm