[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 23, 2015
1891 posts
582 upvotes
Brampton, ON

Rental scams - what to look for?

Hey all,

I am currently looking for an apartment to rent so that I can be closer to work. I have browsed Kijiji as well as posted an ad there. I had someone email me with pictures and a price that was obviously too good to be true. I asked him for the address and that is when the conversation ended (he never replied).

Anyways, as this is my first time searching for an apartment for myself, what are these scams trying to do? Or in other words, what is the scam? If I played along with the dude I assume he would ask me for a deposit (maybe via etransfer or something) and then basically disappear. Is this correct? Also, any other scams I should watch out for?

Thanks
10 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 25, 2005
1378 posts
386 upvotes
I'm not sure which scams are common right now, but here's what I would do (or not do), having rented for a number of years:
  • You mentioned you had to ask for the address. If there's no address listed I wouldn't even waste my time.
  • I would not provide any personal information (aside from name and phone) or make any payment until I met with the owner / agent at the property and wanted to proceed with the rental. If I was asked to make any payment prior to this, I would stop communication and look elsewhere.
  • I would not provide my SIN under any circumstances. It's not required.
  • I would provide first and last months' rent by cheque or e-Transfer, and only once a formal rental agreement was signed. If the owner insists on cash, I would look elsewhere. If the owner will not enter into a written agreement, I would look elsewhere.
  • If something doesn't feel right, leave.
Deal Addict
Jul 3, 2011
4907 posts
2105 upvotes
Thornhill
These scams are usually perpetrated by someone posing as either the landlord, the landlord's representative or a tenant looking to sublet.