• Oct 25th, 2015 10:12 pm
Tags:
None
Jun 5, 2008
202 posts
136 upvotes

Request for advice on my situation

Hello,

I was hoping to get some advice on my situation. This is a lengthy post but I think this is all relevant:

I will be turning 30 next year. I completed my bachelors in chemical engineering in 2013 in Canada. During the degree I completed a 5 month work term at a tissue paper plant in the quality lab mainly carrying out tests and audits on paper products. For my second term I did an 8 month term in the regulatory affairs department for a large company and after graduation a 14 month contract with them as well. So basically no engineering experience. I moved to Alberta in August of last year since I believed it would be easier to get an engineering job here. The economy took a hit so there werent many jobs available. I have applied to over a hundred positions all around Canada since I am willing to relocate anywhere but only had two interviews from pulp and paper companies in BC who considered me until the second interview but I was then rejected. Now my EI has run out and I will be doing some warehouse work.

At this point I do not know what I should be doing. There are two options I am looking at. One is to take a certificate program at Southern Alberta Institute of Technology called the "Process Piping Drafting - Fast Track" program. Its 34-weeks in length, consisting of 30 weeks of instruction and a four-week practicum located in industry. I am thinking this may help get my foot in the door, gain some experience and lead to better things. Here is the course listing: http://www.sait.ca/programs-and-courses ... utline.php