None
[OP]
May 30, 2009
44 posts
25 upvotes
Burlington

Resources to learning about Investing.

Hi All,

Long time lurker, I'm interested in any books or websites/forums recommendations that can introduce a complete novice to financial investing.
Either with knowing what to look for in a good financial adviser or self-management.
20 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 23, 2007
3599 posts
1419 upvotes
hoan86 wrote:
Jul 21st, 2012 11:52 pm
Hi All,

Long time lurker, I'm interested in any books or websites/forums recommendations that can introduce a complete novice to financial investing.
Either with knowing what to look for in a good financial adviser or self-management.
Assuming you mean do it yourself self-management, I would look at Canadian Couch Potato and another Canadian, Andrew Hallam, author of "Millionaire Teacher".
Deal Addict
Nov 26, 2005
3085 posts
249 upvotes
Vancouver
if you are busy or lazy or arnt smart, follow stryker's advise.
else, if you want to do individual stock analysis, FA or TA, start by study accounting, at least to the level you can understand financial statements and its notes.
also need to learn bond and stock pricing models to the level of being able to construct a target stock price based on data from FS using models.
furthermore on the marco side, learn some basic marco econ. at least need to know what GDP is, what monetary policy is etc. so that you can tell the effect of financial news on market, like why lowing interest rate is good for stocks, why cds is driving banks to BK etc.
thats all for FA.
for TA, all FA plus to learn various indication and theories, chart patterns, etc.

last step for FA and TA, start with paper trade for a few months or a year, figure out mistakes in the process and such...by then you should know if you are good for self direct trade or have to settle for couch potato.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 19, 2009
5246 posts
1066 upvotes
Scarborough
ccyk wrote:
Jul 22nd, 2012 5:53 am