Investing

The RFD - Cryptocurrency Mega Thread

Deal Guru
Mar 22, 2004
12361 posts
2892 upvotes
RFD
I just started mining Ethereum ETH for fun on a single computer. I'm completely brand new to this crypto stuff so have to read a lot.

Is there a way to convert ETH to dollars? Or do you just convert it to bitcoin? I have to read about this because I have little to no clue.
Sep 18, 2017
386 posts
506 upvotes
Vancouver
radeonboy wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2018 1:05 am
I just started mining Ethereum ETH for fun on a single computer. I'm completely brand new to this crypto stuff so have to read a lot.

Is there a way to convert ETH to dollars? Or do you just convert it to bitcoin? I have to read about this because I have little to no clue.
Is it even worth it to mine ETH nowadays?
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jun 20, 2011
1803 posts
619 upvotes
VANCOUVER
radeonboy wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2018 1:05 am

You need to send your ETH to an exchange like QuadrigaCX. Locate the pairing you need to change the ETH to Fiat and then withdraw via ETF.

As the poster said above me, is it worth your time? If it's just for fun on a single computer I'm guessing you are getting 3-5 bucks in ETH a day. Now factor in energy costs... Now if you have the parts already and you're running a mining rig that's another story.
Deal Guru
Mar 22, 2004
12361 posts
2892 upvotes
RFD
kaiseki wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2018 1:06 am
Is it even worth it to mine ETH nowadays?
I have no clue, I'm a literal newbie and keep hearing of ETH Ethereum on the "news" so i thought I'd try it out as it was quite simple to get up and running.

What would you recommend?
Deal Guru
Mar 22, 2004
12361 posts
2892 upvotes
RFD
DDHLeigh wrote:
Jan 2nd, 2018 1:17 am
You need to send your ETH to an exchange like QuadrigaCX. Locate the pairing you need to change the ETH to Fiat and then withdraw via ETF.