None
[OP]
Deal Expert
Dec 1, 2003
18861 posts
655 upvotes
Montreal

The RFD Gold & Silver Coins/Bullion/Precious metals thread

Seeing as we are filling other threads, and there seems to lately be a lot of interest in collecting coins and precious metals, I've created this thread. I'm relatively new in the world of Precious Metals, but in the short time I've been collecting, I'll share what I've learned...

The focus of thsi thread is to post pics and talk about coins and precious metals such as gold, silver, platinum, palladium, copper, nickel, you name it, for investment and collecting purposes.

To help you get started here's some tips, tricks, and lingo:

For those getting started in the hobby, do yourself a favour and for under $10, get one of these Ebay scales, which will help you in buying and prevent you from getting ripped off, as well as weighing your rpecious metals:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/0-01-300g-Mini-D ... 414edff731

What is BULLION?
1.Gold or silver in bulk before coining, or valued by weight.
2.A coin or bar struck from precious metal and kept as a store of value or an investment, rather than used in day-to-day commerce.

How can i check the price of precious metals?
There are many websites for this. One of the ones I use is: http://www.kitco.com/market/
Keep in mind that precious metal pricing is like buying stock. The price changes by the second. There is no trading on weekends Saturday and it resumes at 6pm on Sundays. The price you see is called the "spot price."

If spot price for silver is $33, why are people sellingthe bullion for a higher price, like $38?
There's usually a markup because of the manufacturing and shipping costs associated with producing the bullion. Other times there will be much higher premiums based on the exclusivity and rarity of the bullion.

Does Canada make any bullion?