• Last Updated:
  • Mar 23rd, 2012 10:14 am
[OP]
Dec 6, 2009
29 posts
1 upvote

Road Bike

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone could help me look for a beginners road bike that I can use to get around with. I'm new to the bike scene but want to start biking much more often since the weather has been so nice lately. Looking for a male adult bike since I stand at around 6"2 and weigh around 200lbs. I'm willing to spend around $150-300. I've looked at Canadian Tire/Wal-mart and such but all of their road bikes come up to around $400 and I'm not sure I'm ready to invest in one at that price.

If you could help me with a reputable bike store or website that has a good deal on road bikes, it would greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
8 replies
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2004
34352 posts
1478 upvotes
Toronto
You will not get a road bike in that price range.
The closest you can get are the $400 Canadian Tire road bikes. Which is okay depending on use, but they're kinda crappy.

With your price range... You will most likely only be able to afford a low end Road Bicycle that is about 20 years old in rough shape. Truth.

At the upper tier of your price range... Maybe you could afford a mid-range Road Bicycle from the 80s. Maybe...
But these days those type of bikes are very trendy, so that has driven up the price.

Sorry to burst your bubble... but what you're looking for is kind of unrealistic.
A low end road bike from a reputable manufacturer is at least $1000...
So just imagine how low end the ones from Canadian tire are!
    [url=http://tinyurl.com/lbqqav3][size=100][B]
  • Urbanpoet's lottery pool is BACK![/B][/size][/url]
  • 2 Corinthians 5:7 "We Walk By Faith, Not By Sight."
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2010
1652 posts
210 upvotes