None
Deal Addict
Aug 8, 2006
1265 posts
340 upvotes
Vancouver

Is this a scam?

I work as an agent for Western Union.

I had an elderly caucasian lady come in and ask to send $2000 to some guy in China. So I thought that's strange and I asked her if she personally knew the person she was sending this money to. She said no.

I asked her what the money was for. She claims she paid for some online services and they refunded her. They accidentally refunded her $3000 instead of $300. So they asked her to send the remainder back via Western Union.

I advised her not to send the money because it sounded scammy to me. And that that if they accidentally refunded too much, tough cookies for them.
Is this a scam? I didn't get the full details from her, like how they refunded her, what she bought. I just advised her not to do it because they could easily reverse that $3000 refund after she sent her own money to them.
Does anybody know what the hell was actually going on or if its even a scam? lol
32 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 6, 2008
1331 posts
1060 upvotes
Hamilton
Sounds legit to me.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2006
31271 posts
17295 upvotes
$300 says scam

https://www.westernunion.com/us/en/frau ... types.html

Overpayment

With overpayment scams, fraudsters play the role of buyer and target consumers selling a service or product. The “buyer” sends the seller a legitimate-looking check, usually drawn on a well-known bank, for an amount higher than the agreed-upon price. They contact an explanation for this overpayment and instruct the seller to deposit the check and wire back the excess funds. Weeks later, the victim learns the check is fake, but is still on the hook to pay the bank back for any money withdrawn.

Not quite identical but close enough.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 4, 2008
7675 posts
10977 upvotes
Scarbs
How can I become a victim?
When given enough time, all threads on RFD can and will go off on a tangent.
Deal Guru
Aug 20, 2012
13879 posts
3290 upvotes
Pacific Ocean