Yes, it's a scam
You can see how it works here: http://www.lets-ride.com/classifieda...s/thescams.htm under Money Order Scam
Two things to remember that will help you in life:1. Most people aren't going to give you more then you ask for 2. Spelling and Grammar matter. A lot of these scammers don't speak english as a first language, so some of the things written in their emails don't make much sense
Think about this "because am from the united kingdom and i have arrange the pickup" That doesn't make much sense at all. And people from the UK should have better english then ours!
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:22 AM #1Jr. Member

- Join Date
- Dec 25th, 2006
- Posts
- 182
- Thanked 28 times for 7 posts
Is this a scam?
It's starting to sound fishy to me, and I would like to get some opinions. I put up a textbook for sale (not on RFD). Guy e-mails me and goes through the usual stuff: what condition, price, etc. Then he starts to say he has a shipper who could pick up the item and it gets complicated - he wants to pay me an excess amount by money order and then have me wire transfer whatever portion to cover the shipping. After reading his last e-mail below, I start to think 3 things:
1) Why the hell is he so excited over an Econ textbook?
2) Would someone scam for such a small amount? The book is $60 and there's no way the excess for "shipping" would be much
3) If it is a scammer, what's the best way to mess with him?
His last e-mail:
Hello and thanks for getting back to me, I must let you know that am very happy its still available for sale, I must let you know that i will buy it from you.
so i am making the final confirmation on the sale, Now an overdraft (excess) international money orders will be issue out to you in your name and all i will want you to do is to deduct your money which is $60.
Then you send the rest money to the person coming for the pickup at your location through western union money transfer, because am from the united kingdom and i have arrange the pickup with him so please understand this because the same person will bring some other items from Canada for me.
so please get back to me with the followings so that the payment can be send to you immediately.
Your full name...?
Your full contact address.......?
Your city...?
Your postal code...?
Your home phone number and cell number so that the payment can be send to you.
Note...I want you to know that am not in the state for now,but i will not mind to pay you extra $5 for you to keep it for me till the payment get to you. Because here they are worth more that the mount you give it to me.
-
Sponsored Links - Join the RedFlagDeals.com community and remove this ad.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:37 AM #2Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Apr 14th, 2003
- Location
- Ontario
- Posts
- 3,060
- Thanked 12 times for 12 posts
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:37 AM #3
You're apparently new, so I'll give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you know nothing about this.
Yes, your instincts are right. It is a variation of the a scam where someone sends you money for an item, it is too much, you refund the rest back, and the original check bounces, leaving you on the hook.
Here is a thread to another poster who fell for the scam you apparently avoided.
Be Aware: Textbook buyer SCAM!!! I got scammed, STAY ALERT!
And here is a link to a CityNews story on the same topic - Money Order And Cheque Overpayment Scams by CityNew's Consumer Specialist Jee-Yun Lee.Last edited by 45ED; Apr 8th, 2009 at 09:42 AM.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:42 AM #4Jr. Member

- Join Date
- Dec 25th, 2006
- Posts
- 182
- Thanked 28 times for 7 posts
Yeah, I kinda came to the same conclusion even as I was typing out my post. I guess I was surprised because this is very small-potatoish as far as scams go.
*EDIT* Thanks for that RFD link, very interesting and RFD comes through as usual.
*EDIT2* OK, after reading those threads about $800 money orders, it makes a bit more sense. Guess I haven't gotten that e-mail yet.
Last edited by brownbobcat; Apr 8th, 2009 at 09:53 AM.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:44 AM #5
The answer is yes
And all I did was read the subject title. No other details were required in coming to this conclusion.
_______________
God save us from organized religion.
Back for a limited engagement.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:46 AM #6Deal Guru




- Join Date
- Oct 1st, 2001
- Location
- Lego North
- Posts
- 23,622
- Thanked 3,738 times for 439 posts
Yes it's completely a scam. All you need to do is use common sense - who in their right mind would overpay for a lousy text book?
Ok but what if someone didn't have common sense you may ask? Answer: Google! Required reading for anyone without common sense:
http://www.phonebusters.com
In particular:
http://www.phonebusters.com/english/...fraudover.html
Best way to mess with him? Hit the delete button.Last edited by MrDisco; Apr 8th, 2009 at 12:22 PM.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:49 AM #7
+1 Even if you, the OP, aren't giving him the money, he is, in a way, winning. You may be messing with him, but he gets "some" revenge by wasting your time. Best to cut ties, block the guy, and move on. That, and perhaps remember this incident so that if any of your friends encounter this situation, or even think of selling a textbook and mention so to you, inform them so that the scammer scams one less person.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:49 AM #8
-
Apr 8th, 2009 09:54 AM #9
-
Apr 8th, 2009 10:09 AM #10
Not reading OP, not reading thread.
Automatic "YES" reply generated._______________
Heatware 50 Positive, 0 Negative
-
Apr 8th, 2009 10:11 AM #11
It is not a scam.
Go for it, I can ensure the results are promising.
I'm a successful client and can guarantee it's legit.
_______________
Must Read Books!
Dale Carneigie's How to win Friends & Influence People, Seth Godin's Purple Cow, Sun Tze's Art of War, Nicolo Machiavelli's The Prince, Charles Darwin's The Orgin of Species, Scott Fitzgerald's Great Gatsby, Tom Wolfe's A Man in Full, Joshua Ferris' Then We Came to the End and Eugene Kelly's Chasing Daylight.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 11:51 AM #12
If you actually have to ask if it is a scam, it is.
-
Apr 8th, 2009 12:47 PM #13Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Jan 9th, 2007
- Posts
- 1,626
- Thanked 13 times for 8 posts
-
Apr 8th, 2009 12:48 PM #14
-
Apr 8th, 2009 12:53 PM #15_______________
RFD 25-0-0
Ebay 8-0-0
VIRGIN MOBILE SALES ASSOCIATE @ OAKVILLE PLACE
PSN ID: Assrash23 | Twitter: Rashypoo **Follow Me**~*~*~*~*~Personal Blog~*~*~*~*~|Dance.Flirt.Music.Chill|
Search Forums
Reply With Quote

