• Last Updated:
  • Jul 12th, 2018 12:59 pm
[OP]
Jun 12, 2010
536 posts
129 upvotes
YVR

School Me on Cookware & Knives

Looking for some insight on setting up a kitchen in my new place. What are some brands to look out for, what products do I need (I know this is subjective - I'm a fairly novice cook, but am looking to learn and would like some quality, cost-effective gear to work with), any good deals out there?

I've seen the big cookware sets from Costco (~$200) - are these worth it? They also have the J.A.Henckel knife block set that looked enticing, but not sure if I need that comprehensive of a set nor do I know if they're good quality or not. My budget is around $300-400, and perhaps $500 max to spend on a decent set of beginner cookware for the kitchen including knives, pots, pans, etc.
15 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2015
3230 posts
2147 upvotes
wiffle wrote:
Jul 10th, 2018 12:40 pm
Looking for some insight on setting up a kitchen in my new place. What are some brands to look out for, what products do I need (I know this is subjective - I'm a fairly novice cook, but am looking to learn and would like some quality, cost-effective gear to work with), any good deals out there?

I've seen the big cookware sets from Costco (~$200) - are these worth it? They also have the J.A.Henckel knife block set that looked enticing, but not sure if I need that comprehensive of a set nor do I know if they're good quality or not. My budget is around $300-400, and perhaps $500 max to spend on a decent set of beginner cookware for the kitchen including knives, pots, pans, etc.
With your budget, I'd be looking at getting the following:

Tri-ply 18/10 stainless steel cookware set (5qt Dutch oven, skillet, pots)
5 or 7qt enameled cast iron Dutch oven
Paring knife
Chef's knife
1000/4000 grit combo sharpening stone.
Bread/tomato knife (any cheap one will do)
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2008
4526 posts
1588 upvotes