Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 8, 2007
1720 posts
114 upvotes
Mississauga

School/Parent Council Fundraising/Event Ideas

Joined my daughter's school council this year - she's in SK, it's my first year, no other experience with school councils.

We do the regular pizza days for fundraising....but looking for new/novel ideas to improve parent engagement and fundraising (lower priority) for next year. We have a lot of two parent working families in our hood thus don't currently a large parent volunteer base. Fun fairs and large events are out of the question.

So what sorts of things has your child's school done that have helped parent engagement at your school and/or raised some funds? What sort of stuff do you dislike? (e.g. selling stuff to my friends/family is not an option for me)
6 replies
Oct 17, 2013
125 posts
62 upvotes
Ontario
In terms of raising funds, our school prefers activities that don't require a lot of spending upfront in order to maximize the amount of money the school gets. An example is a dance-a-thon or spell-a-thon. Students get sponsors for dancing for an afternoon or spelling a certain number of words correctly. For the dance-a-thon, we get a zumba instructor to dance and guide our students for about 100 minutes, then they have another 100 minutes of regular dancing. They love it. Please avoid fundraisers that require a lot of time input from teachers. Just as parents get tired of too many fundraisers, so do teachers.
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2004
3392 posts
355 upvotes
Toronto
I think one way to look at it, is that parent engagement needs to come before any real fundraising can take place. Having a vibrant school council that is visible, has the ear of the principal, and gets things done, will encourage more participation by interested families. (There will always be families that are not interested / won't come out to events no matter what).