Tags:
None
[OP]
Jan 2, 2009
139 posts
34 upvotes
Ontario

Scotia Auto Open loan

I've a 5 years 5.9% open loan with Scotia through Mitsubishi Dealership for a used 2009 Mitsubishi Outlander. When I got this loan, I was told that i can pay it off any time. I'm in my third year right now on a bi-weekly payment plan, and thinking about paying off the remaining loan in one lump sum payment through balance transfer or cash payment. I have an old credit card with 3.9% AIR for both purchases and balance transfer (zero transfer fee) that has zero balance. Now my question is:
1. Do I still have to pay the interest on my remaining principal amount if I pay it, let's say tomorrow?
2. If the bank still charges 5.9% on the remaining principal, does it make sense financially to transfer to my credit card with lower interest rate?

I'd appreciate if you could give some input on my conundrum.
Thanks
2 replies
Mar 2, 2010
428 posts
37 upvotes
woesermarley wrote:
Apr 29th, 2014 2:31 pm
I've a 5 years 5.9% open loan with Scotia through Mitsubishi Dealership for a used 2009 Mitsubishi Outlander. When I got this loan, I was told that i can pay it off any time. I'm in my third year right now on a bi-weekly payment plan, and thinking about paying off the remaining loan in one lump sum payment through balance transfer or cash payment. I have an old credit card with 3.9% AIR for both purchases and balance transfer (zero transfer fee) that has zero balance. Now my question is:
1. Do I still have to pay the interest on my remaining principal amount if I pay it, let's say tomorrow?
2. If the bank still charges 5.9% on the remaining principal, does it make sense financially to transfer to my credit card with lower interest rate?

I'd appreciate if you could give some input on my conundrum.
Thanks
You will not be charged 5.9% interest for the remaining balance of the car loan. So if you can borrow money at 3.9%, then use that and save yourself some interest.