None
Deal Addict
Mar 3, 2009
1913 posts
1221 upvotes
Ottawa, ON

Scotia iTrade and eSeries Funds

Good afternoon:

For the last several years I have made bi-weekly contributions to Canada Savings Bonds and held them in the Canada RSP.

I have decided that the interest made on the CSBs is getting pretty bad and I want to invest it in something that is more likely to do better.

I was thinking of investing in TD eSeries funds. So here is my question. I have a iTrade account, can I buy eSeries funds through the iTrade account or do I have to buy through TD?

I think I am starting to get very confused.....
15 replies
Oct 6, 2009
130 posts
Markham
You would need to open an Investment account with TD and use the money in that account to buy TD eSeries funds.
----------------------------
Deal Addict
Mar 3, 2009
1913 posts
1221 upvotes
Ottawa, ON
You are going to have to excuse my ignorance here, as I am very new to this.

However, if I look at "TD Canadian Bond Index", this has a fund code of TDB909.

If I search that fund code on iTrade, I get "TD Canadian Bond Index Fund-e", Price 10.85$. This appears to be the fund. I can select BUY.

It would seem that I can purchase it? Am I missing something?

Actually, I am sure I am missing something, hopefully one of you can tell me what it is.

Thanks.
Deal Addict
Feb 9, 2005
4172 posts
20 upvotes
dr_torch wrote: You are going to have to excuse my ignorance here, as I am very new to this.

However, if I look at "TD Canadian Bond Index", this has a fund code of TDB909.

If I search that fund code on iTrade, I get "TD Canadian Bond Index Fund-e", Price 10.85$. This appears to be the fund. I can select BUY.

It would seem that I can purchase it? Am I missing something?

Actually, I am sure I am missing something, hopefully one of you can tell me what it is.