Seasonal tax preparer, how to start?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 19th, 2017 4:27 pm
[OP]
May 3, 2016
206 posts
15 upvotes

Seasonal tax preparer, how to start?

If I'm interested in starting as a seasonal tax preparer, should I start by taking a class at Liberty Tax or H&R block? Which is preferred or are there better ones out there?

I just want to be a tax preparer and work my way up as I gain experience gradually, not aiming too high as a tax consultant or anything like that.
3 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 28, 2014
2952 posts
437 upvotes
It is difficult to tell from your post, but from the way it reads I suspect you do not have any tax knowledge or experience. If I am incorrect please indicate so.

I would not recommend H&R Block - when I studied tax in college the people who were failing tax worked there. Although it was a long time ago I expect it has not changed. I know nothing about Liberty Tax.

You have to be knowledgeable about tax - not on the phone constantly with CRA - anyone can do that. Surely there are other better tax courses you could take that would make your services far more appealing. Personally I would want someone experienced - and who would not suggest claiming items that fall into a "grey" area. Not suggesting that you would be one of those people, but I see it all the time. And remember, your name will go on the tax returns as having prepared the returns for money.

I would also look at insurance. I have relatives who are retired accountants and they will not do tax returns for anyone other than very close family - that do not pay them. My husband is one of them.
[OP]
May 3, 2016
206 posts
15 upvotes
Blanche123 wrote:
Apr 19th, 2017 10:20 am
It is difficult to tell from your post, but from the way it reads I suspect you do not have any tax knowledge or experience. If I am incorrect please indicate so.