Students

Second Masters or Doctorate?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 20th, 2018 11:22 pm
[OP]
Jan 10, 2018
1 posts

Second Masters or Doctorate?

I am a teacher and I have a Master's in Psychology. I am considering going back to school (online) and I am considering a Master's in Museum Studies from Harvard through their extension program. I am also considering a Doctorate in Education at a Canadian school. The masters programs and doctorates I am looking at will cost about the same. I hope to advance my career in education. Does anyone have an opinion on this?
9 replies
Aug 15, 2015
924 posts
106 upvotes
Markham, ON
What do you mean when you say you hope to advance your career in education? It's going to affect people's answer.
Deal Addict
Dec 27, 2013
1490 posts
403 upvotes
Woodbridge
NathanielFlaherty wrote:
Jan 11th, 2018 6:00 pm
I hope to advance my career in education.
In what way? Do you want to become a principal and eventually a SO? Do you want to work for the Ministry of Education? Do you want to work with the curriculum? Do you want to teach B.Ed students? What province are you in?
[OP]
Jan 10, 2018
1 posts
I am hoping to do counselling for teachers looking to find jobs. I am wondering if having the harvard name will make me more marketable.
Deal Addict
Nov 24, 2004
3369 posts
351 upvotes
Toronto
NathanielFlaherty wrote:
Jan 22nd, 2018 1:41 pm
I am hoping to do counselling for teachers looking to find jobs. I am wondering if having the harvard name will make me more marketable.
If your Harvard training is found to be totally unrelated to what you are doing (museum education vs. career counselling) then using it as a selling point might very well be a negative.
Deal Guru
Dec 31, 2005
13279 posts
708 upvotes
I don't see the value at all.