Students

The SENECA COLLEGE Official Thread

Deal Fanatic
May 18, 2009
5449 posts
1119 upvotes
Richmond Hill
anyone know of any cheap parking at Markham and/or Newnham campus? I usually take the shuttle bus from Markham to newnham
Apr 6, 2019
1 posts
Can anyone let me know what to expect for the HWD101 exam and the ULI101 exam? I've just re-read all my labs and notes, hoping HWD is more or less like the other tests, ULI more like the quizzes with scripting added?
Dec 1, 2017
8 posts
4 upvotes
Can anybody offer their co-op placement experiences? Specifically companies, roles, job responsibilities, pay.
May 12, 2017
1 posts
2 upvotes
May be too late to be of use to you now, but I was a CTY student and got my coop at a bank within information security (shift role). I extended my coop a few times (1 yr total). Turned out that I liked it more than my CTY course content. Shortly after returning from my coop I got a full-time offer and took it. During the coop, pay would work out to mid 30k annually + a small shift premium.

I've been told bank coops can vary a fair bit depending on your role. Supposedly some don't provide you with enough work to do and you can end up doing meaningless work with little to no responsibility. Mine afforded me 90% of the responsibilities of the full-time role, so it was a really good opportunity to learn a bunch. That being said, lots of what I learned wasn't directly applicable to CTY subject matter and wouldn't necessarily help me if I wanted to go for a Sysadmin role in the future.

If I could offer past-me some advice:

First, look at your coop as the stepping stone for your future. Unless you are desperate for money, I wouldn't use pay as your main criteria. Sure, one coop may pay a bit more than another, but that difference in pay will be minuscule compared to how much you will earn down the line. With that in mind, focus on what position is going to put you on the best upward trajectory.