Severance Packages ON

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 6th, 2018 7:51 pm
Tags:
Jan 30, 2018
2 posts

Severance Packages ON

Hi everyone.
I work for an American software company with a small office in Ontario. The company is very profitable and has about 1500 employees WW but in ON only 10 or so.
I'm a Sr Account Manager, in my late 40s, and have been working for this company for 14 years. My salary is comprised by a base salary + commissions (25% base, 75% commissions approx - last 3 years)
I'm covering 2 territories, Canada and LatAm and the solutions we sell are very sophisticated (enterprise solutions for IBM specific platforms - e.g. mainframes).
Due to some restructuring, the situation at this company is changing very quickly and a lot of colleagues were let go lately.
I'd like to understand based on these facts, how much I would be entitled to, in case my job is terminated without cause.
I have the impression I may be entilted to one month every one year of service... but a month of what? base salary or base + average commission?
Any information you can provide or share will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
Last edited by sonnyRoll on Jan 31st, 2018 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
11 replies
Feb 8, 2017
459 posts
261 upvotes
check the Ontario ESA website for the MINIMUMs you are entitled to and then go from there. sounds like you need legal advice
Deal Addict
Oct 16, 2013
2409 posts
765 upvotes
New Brunswick
First, what does your contract says? Are you part of a layoff?

Min is 1 week/ year of service, but civil cases/ courts will give more base of different factors. I suggest taking a sick day and use the free consults that lawyers offer. Get more than one opinion.
Deal Expert
Oct 6, 2005
16872 posts
2557 upvotes
Ask the company to pay for the legal consult ... they often will because it prevents issues in the future where the person said they were "forced" to sign the package uninformed. 1 hour consult is about $400 - $500.
Mar 19, 2017
4 posts
6 upvotes