Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 30, 2004
2487 posts
120 upvotes
Toronto

Shiba Inu in Toronto.

Any recommendations as to where to get a Shiba Inu puppy in Toronto?

Any input is much appreciated!
My Heatware Feedback: Click!
19 replies
Apr 25, 2011
624 posts
212 upvotes
British Columbia
Sorry, I have no knowledge of breeders.

I just wanted to make sure you have done your research on the breed. They are not an easy breed. I see far too many people getting dogs like this without considering the Shiba/Akita/Chow personality.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 30, 2004
2487 posts
120 upvotes
Toronto
Karala wrote:
Feb 5th, 2017 6:52 pm
Sorry, I have no knowledge of breeders.

I just wanted to make sure you have done your research on the breed. They are not an easy breed. I see far too many people getting dogs like this without considering the Shiba/Akita/Chow personality.

You are correct and this will be my first dog; I have been doing some readings since 4 years ago (but not about this breed) in order to properly prepare myself as I do not want to ruin his/her life. Perhaps it will be another 2-3 years before I get an actual dog :)
Apr 25, 2011
624 posts
212 upvotes
British Columbia
DJ Trance AZ wrote:
Feb 5th, 2017 6:59 pm
You are correct and this will be my first dog; I have been doing some readings since 4 years ago (but not about this breed) in order to properly prepare myself as I do not want to ruin his/her life. Perhaps it will be another 2-3 years before I get an actual dog :)
I would strongly advise getting another breed as a first time dog owner. Even an experienced owner may not be ready for these types of dogs, they are quite different than many other breeds.

This breed does what it wants and has a very high prey drive and most do NOT do well with any kind of restraint... so I see their poor qualities frequently as I work in a veterinary office. I see a Shiba, I immediately don't trust it when handling.

This list is really spot on: