• Last Updated:
  • Apr 23rd, 2017 10:01 pm
[OP]
Jul 23, 2015
44 posts
8 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Should I do US CPA or Canadian CPA?

I'm a dual citizen in both countries. I'm in 4th year at a Canadian university majoring in accounting. I've worked 2 co-ops at a big accounting firm in Canada and 1 co-op in the US for a Fortune 500
I also plan to do the grad diploma my schools offers, which allows me to skip to the capstones.

However, should I go do a US CPA instead or stick the with Canadian CPA program? I feel like there are more opportunities in the US.

My concern with with US route is I might have do school again from scratch (pretty sure their CPA courses are different). Or I might have to apply for a masters program my gpa isn't really high 3.3...
Just wasn't sure if its worth the time and money
7 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 27, 2007
4776 posts
774 upvotes
Peterborough
I would do Canadian if you plan to work here and US if you plan to work there.

Better route is to get CDN designation, then do reciprocity exams (not sure if still applicable so look into it) and get the US letters after.
[OP]
Jul 23, 2015
44 posts
8 upvotes
Toronto, ON
dutchca wrote:
Apr 21st, 2017 10:23 am
I would do Canadian if you plan to work here and US if you plan to work there.

Better route is to get CDN designation, then do reciprocity exams (not sure if still applicable so look into it) and get the US letters after.
Would I have to do more schooling to meet the req to do the US exams?
Feb 14, 2016
857 posts
262 upvotes
xxxyyy wrote:
Apr 22nd, 2017 2:16 pm
Would I have to do more schooling to meet the req to do the US exams?
u clearly need to do more research on your own, bud
it takes 5 min googling to figure out the requirement for each CPAs;

god damn bro, are you seriously asking people for advice with those job experiences?????

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=us+cpa+education+requirement