Students

Should I Major in Psychology and do a minor in economics?

[OP]
Nov 20, 2009
24 posts
North York

Should I Major in Psychology and do a minor in economics?

I am in my first year here at Waterloo and I have to declare my major soon (I'm in arts and business program).
I am 100% sure that I want to major in psychology. To be honest, I have no idea what I want to do after I graduate. I obviously heard that I can't do anything with a BA degree in Psychology unless I go for Masters or Ph.D. I want to help people who suffer from depression, anxiety, etc. but The problem is that I do not want to do any more school. I am taking microeconomics right now and I really enjoy it. I find it interesting even though the graphs can be quite confusing sometimes. I was thinking if I should do a minor in economics along with my psychology major. Would that be beneficial? I am just worried about all the math in economics because I am really, really weak at math. I only took advanced function in highschool and finished with a 61% even though I worked my butt off. I never took Calculus.
I was also considering adding a human resource management specialization onto my degree. But at the same time, I am not really interested in human resources (I think)

I don't know if adding the minor and specialization would help me get a good job
I am really confused whether I should stick with this plan. What do you think? Beneficial or no?
15 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 12, 2003
2849 posts
54 upvotes
Markham
What career direction are you interested in or remotely interested in??

I think that's a key question. If you want to learn for fun, then learn whatever. If you want to learn and apply your education in the job market...then psychology or minor in econ or the combination of the two, I doubt will be very useful.....