• Last Updated:
  • Aug 24th, 2006 1:56 pm
Tags:
None
Jan 17, 2005
97 posts

Should i open a LOC acccount?

hey I need some financial advice...

my bank, CIBC, just offered me a $10,000 dollar line of credit.

The guy told me usually people need a credit check, income check, etc.. but told me I was preapproved.

I'm a student making about 10-15k/year...currently I am debt free, with 2 visa credit cards...

I don't have any real assets if that matters..

Does it make sense to take it out? It won't cost me anthing to use it, and it's 8% interest if I choose to use it..

Anything to ask/look for when i'm there?

Any advice would be helpful...pros and cons.. thanks in advance!
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Apr 6, 2003
8451 posts
16 upvotes
I'd probably do it, $10,000 is just about the perfect LOC in my opinion, enough to cover any emergencies or most anything big.

Long as you can avoid the temptation I would always suggest everyone has a LOC about that amount.

*shrug*

I don't think it would be a big deal if you took it now though or waited until you possibly needed it.
People who are in my gang: Nikita, Spidey, weedb0y, jcoltage, deep, pitz, Sylvestre, Icedawn, 3weddings, Ambermoon, CSK'sMom, jazzsax, bokep, matdwyer, Dash, KorruptioN, angekfire, sxz, WontonTiger, YYZFA, king_george, 45ED, sxz, Ojam

*WE GONNA GIT YOU!
Deal Addict
Apr 2, 2006
1023 posts
8 upvotes
Just to note, being pre-approved doesn't mean much. Its just like those pre-approved credit card mailings you get.

10K LOC is pretty high for someone with your income. But if CIBC is going to give it to you.. I say go for it. Doesn't hurt.

But negotiate for a better rate. Lots of people are able to get prime + 1% for an unsecured LOC.
Banned
Jun 19, 2006
9349 posts
57 upvotes
As long as you can trust yourself not to abuse it, then having the LOC is an excellent idea which will help build your credit rating.