Careers

Should i quit my job and go to Alberta ? ( Mech Eng with 3 years of experience)

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 14th, 2013 2:09 pm
[OP]
Oct 16, 2013
14 posts
1 upvote
Toronto

Should i quit my job and go to Alberta ? ( Mech Eng with 3 years of experience)

Should I go to Alberta for better pay and position ?

Background: 24 yrs old, I am a graduate Mechanical Engineer from University of Toronto with 3 years of experience. Currently I am employed in Toronto as a Jr. Engineer with below a pay of $46k per year. Being an immigrant with a family of 3 and no assets, salary right now tops my list of priority. As I want to buy a home for parents, its becoming harder to see my self here in Toronto with low paying jobs.

I want to get a new engineering job in Alberta, and wondering should I apply for Alberta jobs from here in Toronto and hope for the best ? Or should should I quit my job and head to AB (i.e burn money to find a new job) ?

How long does it take to find a Engineering job in Calgary/Edmonton area ?

FYI It took me 5 months to land a job in Toronto and was never able to get an interview from AB.

Thank you for reading and contributing,

Just an immigrant trying to make it.
45 replies
Dec 10, 2005
119 posts
11 upvotes
lhrstig1 wrote:
Oct 17th, 2013 1:49 pm
Should I go to Alberta for better pay and position ?

Background: 24 yrs old, I am a graduate Mechanical Engineer from University of Toronto with 3 years of experience. Currently I am employed in Toronto as a Jr. Engineer with below a pay of $46k per year. Being an immigrant with a family of 3 and no assets, salary right now tops my list of priority. As I want to buy a home for parents, its becoming harder to see my self here in Toronto with low paying jobs.

I want to get a new engineering job in Alberta, and wondering should I apply for Alberta jobs from here in Toronto and hope for the best ? Or should should I quit my job and head to AB (i.e burn money to find a new job) ?