Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 18, 2012
1241 posts
105 upvotes

Slight jerk/push when gear shifts

Hey guys so I just picked up my 2009 Acura RDX with 101,000KM yesterday and I am noticing something.

I had a 2012 HONDA CIVIC exl with 105,000 KM and when I use to drive that, the gear shift was smoooth. No jerk or heavy feeling at all.

With the Rdx, from a stop light when I accelerate slowly, I can feel a slight slight slight jerk..
Even a slighter jerk on 3rd gear.

However, if I press the pedal and go somewhat fast, I don't feel that jerk when shifting gear. It's smooth as butter.

I'm wondering what the issue is, is there an upcoming transmission issue?

I am not that technical but my car was off and I took out the transmission fluid dip stick and the colour was nice and pink. But I can't tell how much fluid is there because it didn't cover the two holes in the stick...

I also didn't notice any oil leak or fluid leak.. They also did an engine wash and it looks brand new so I can't tell whether there are any leaks or not. However, no sign of leaks on my drive way.
12 replies
May 11, 2015
102 posts
20 upvotes
Unionville, ON
That may be Turbo Vtec trying to kick in yo, it's begging you to go pedal to metal.
Deal Expert
Feb 26, 2004
26999 posts
4292 upvotes
The issue is the driver not the car. Be smoother with the clutch.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Apr 18, 2012
1241 posts
105 upvotes
It's an automatic. No clutch.

2.4 i-vetch turbo engine.

When I press down the pedal, smooth shifting.

The jerk I feel is very minor. When I ask people in the car, they say what jerk? Didn't feel anything.

Also if I'm going fast and I press the brake, and the car down shifts, I can feel that jerk too. Like I said it's not a crazy jerk but I just want to make sure it's not a transmission issue.

What test can I perform to ensure transmission is fine?
Deal Guru
Jun 12, 2003
14651 posts
1048 upvotes
Markham