• Last Updated:
  • Jul 27th, 2012 5:48 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Jul 24, 2012
49 posts

Small Investment advice

Hi there im a 20 year student I have around 10000$ that I would like to invest but I'm not sure what I should do with it. I want to invest mostly long term ranging. from 3-20 years. I was thinking index mutual funds and some stocks. I want to make a lot of money hopefully double what I invested so duration is open for anything. I'm currently at rbc and thinking of opening a DI account but I also might apply to TD I don't know of the eseries is suitible for what I'm trying to do.
16 replies
Jul 23, 2012
9 posts
1 upvote
WHITBY
Screen some mutual funds with high dividend payouts. I'm 23 and currently own around the same amount as you, in 3 different mutual funds that pay monthly dividends of between 9-14% (annualized), and i have it set up to reinvest whatever dividends are paid.

I use TD and create my own screeners on their webbroker website, im sure RBC has the same type of screeners - one of my mutual funds is actually the RBC monthly income mutual fund
Deal Fanatic
Jun 26, 2005
9184 posts
1343 upvotes
Toronto
My best advice: Get an education on investing. REAL one, not just from books. They teach you all the wrong things.
Deal Addict
Jul 23, 2007
3599 posts
1419 upvotes
raxdax10 wrote:
Jul 25th, 2012 4:14 pm
Hi there im a 20 year student I have around 10000$ that I would like to invest but I'm not sure what I should do with it. I want to invest mostly long term ranging. from 3-20 years. I was thinking index mutual funds and some stocks. I want to make a lot of money hopefully double what I invested so duration is open for anything. I'm currently at rbc and thinking of opening a DI account but I also might apply to TD I don't know of the eseries is suitible for what I'm trying to do.
If you're interested in TD e-Series index funds, at TD Canada Trust you can set up a pre-authorized purchase plan (PPP) for as little as $25 per fund on a regular basis.