• Last Updated:
  • Feb 13th, 2018 7:18 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Sep 14, 2006
7090 posts
313 upvotes

Smart door lock reviews

Hey everyone. I’m looking at getting a smart lock to replace my door handle and lock system currently from the original builder from 5 years ago. Not sure what is reliable, durable and reputable.

Any recommendations and who has one installed already? How is it? What are your concerns? I am completely new at this smart lock tech.

Thanks for your input.
TEAM CANADA!!!!!!!!!!!
23 replies
Jun 11, 2010
397 posts
177 upvotes
ottawa
bobbings wrote:
Feb 10th, 2018 2:51 pm
Hey everyone. I’m looking at getting a smart lock to replace my door handle and lock system currently from the original builder from 5 years ago. Not sure what is reliable, durable and reputable.

Any recommendations and who has one installed already? How is it? What are your concerns? I am completely new at this smart lock tech.

Thanks for your input.
I just installed the kwikset 912 and it's been rock solid. Integrates with smartthings and then into home assistant. Smartthings has this sweet 'smart door lock' smartapp so you can change the codes directly through the app.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Sep 14, 2006
7090 posts
313 upvotes
barqers wrote:
Feb 10th, 2018 2:57 pm
I just installed the kwikset 912 and it's been rock solid. Integrates with smartthings and then into home assistant. Smartthings has this sweet 'smart door lock' smartapp so you can change the codes directly through the app.
Is it reliant on the company supporting the product in order for it to work? Similar to the smart home monitoring device which requires subscription for remote and online monitoring.

If the company closes down, will these smart features continue to work or are we tied to the company forever?
TEAM CANADA!!!!!!!!!!!
Jun 11, 2010
397 posts
177 upvotes
ottawa
bobbings wrote:
Feb 10th, 2018 3:06 pm