Computers & Electronics

SmartRG SR505N 802.11n Wireless VDSL2 Modem Info Thread

  • Last Updated:
  • Jul 12th, 2017 8:27 pm
Tags:
None
Banned
User avatar
Oct 15, 2005
12954 posts
1602 upvotes
North York
there is no reason if your modem is currently still working.
the only times you need to consider a new modem is if you get a VDSL2 profile.. which is any profile with upload speed higher then 1 meg.
or if your speedtouch starts to crap out or dies.
M1K3Z0R wrote:
Apr 24th, 2014 3:51 am
Any reason to move to this modem if I'm still rocking a Speedtouch 516 on 6mbps ADSL? My speedy has been going strong since 2009, not expecting it to live forever
Member
May 26, 2011
418 posts
66 upvotes
Etobicoke
scoolro wrote:
Apr 24th, 2014 12:54 am
how good is the wi-fi range or wi-fi distance on the SmartRG modems??

Thanks in advance everyone.

scoolro
Me too, thay sent me a sager by mistake, just received the 505n. Will the the wi-fi travel to 2nd floor of apartment properly. Its needed right above the modem, only about 8 feet. I have a new asus wl-520gu router, RFD deal, but I think its obsolete, can buy better 1 if needed. just needed to run minix x7 and occasionally print something. any thoughts or advice? p>s. should I factory reset the 505n? for any benefits. ? My friend can load dd-wrt or tomato if the 520gu will take it. ,not sure if its even needed for my needs Thx.
Newbie
User avatar
Apr 8, 2008
47 posts
12 upvotes
Toronto
scoolro wrote:
Apr 24th, 2014 12:54 am
how good is the wi-fi range or wi-fi distance on the SmartRG modems??

Thanks in advance everyone.

scoolro
Does anyone know the range of SMARTRG wifi???

thanks again.
Sr. Member
Oct 27, 2013
642 posts
129 upvotes
Mississauga
Guys, I'm looking at buying a used one, it's from "Velcom." Do I need to worry about it being locked or unusable with Contact.net in some way?
Member
May 26, 2011
418 posts
66 upvotes
Etobicoke
any group buys or cheap deals for the 505n? still?
Deal Guru
User avatar
Jun 12, 2003
14302 posts
864 upvotes
Markham
gregster64 wrote:
Apr 28th, 2014 4:10 pm
any group buys or cheap deals for the 505n? still?
i just got mine through my ISP... i think they changed me $120 without any group buy
ShadowVlican
Newbie
User avatar
Apr 8, 2008
47 posts
12 upvotes
Toronto
ShadowVlican wrote:
Apr 29th, 2014 8:40 pm
i just got mine through my ISP... i think they changed me $120 without any group buy
ShadowVlican wrote:
Apr 29th, 2014 8:40 pm
i just got mine through my ISP... i think they changed me $120 without any group buy
When you buy a smartRg modem as a group buy you also pay $120 ( but with a group it is $120 total no taxes, no $20 extra for shipping a receipt for 12 month warranty and it unlocked)

I bought mine as a group buy and I am glad I did.

if you read into the group buys you know you'll save on the taxes and shipping and its unlocked its great.
Newbie
Oct 14, 2009
14 posts
North York
Hey just found out I can't use DSL due to street lines needing to be replaced. I am willing to sell the SmartRG so just send me a pm. Thanks
Sr. Member
Dec 15, 2012
672 posts
225 upvotes
Toronto
Wow. Huge props for bringing this together, OP. I found it very useful for diagnosing a couple of issues.

On a sidenote, I tried connecting a 2.5 external hard drive to the side USB port but not sure what to do next. It does spin up but that's doesn't mean it's accessible at all :P
Newbie
User avatar
Jan 27, 2014
71 posts
8 upvotes
Oakville, ON
Looks like my modem might of shipped with a different firmware? I can't seem to change any settings, just view what is currently already there. The Bell Tech didn't understand what was wrong and ask me to google it. I log into the modem using 192.168.2.1 and both username and password are "user" and then I can't change anything? Here is a picture of what I am currently seeing. I don't see any "advance settings" or anything to change anything? Not really sure what I should do here...

[IMG]http://i1044.photobucket.com/albums/b44 ... ture-1.png[/IMG]
[OP]
Deal Addict
User avatar
Apr 26, 2011
3236 posts
1102 upvotes
Toronto
VolDead08 wrote:
May 1st, 2014 10:43 pm
Looks like my modem might of shipped with a different firmware? I can't seem to change any settings, just view what is currently already there. The Bell Tech didn't understand what was wrong and ask me to google it. I log into the modem using 192.168.2.1 and both username and password are "user" and then I can't change anything? Here is a picture of what I am currently seeing. I don't see any "advance settings" or anything to change anything? Not really sure what I should do here...

[IMG]http://i1044.photobucket.com/albums/b44 ... ture-1.png[/IMG]
where did you buy it from?
Newbie
User avatar
Jan 27, 2014
71 posts
8 upvotes
Oakville, ON
Troy_McClure wrote:
May 1st, 2014 11:06 pm
where did you buy it from?
My mother bought it through Contact.net I believe, so I am guessing it is locked to Contact.net?
[OP]
Deal Addict
User avatar
Apr 26, 2011
3236 posts
1102 upvotes
Toronto
VolDead08 wrote:
May 1st, 2014 11:11 pm
My mother bought it through Contact.net I believe, so I am guessing it is locked to Contact.net?
ya i guess you are. I recall contactisp saying if you flash the firmware you will lose warranty or support from them or something like that.
Newbie
User avatar
Jan 27, 2014
71 posts
8 upvotes
Oakville, ON
Troy_McClure wrote:
May 1st, 2014 11:34 pm
ya i guess you are. I recall contactisp saying if you flash the firmware you will lose warranty or support from them or something like that.
Don't really care about warranty, just wanna know how to fix it, and to fix it asap, since I need to do port forwarding and change my SSIDs and stuff.

Top