Entrepreneurship & Small Business

So many dry clean / laundry stores for sale?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 2nd, 2007 1:06 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2005
1632 posts
22 upvotes
Mississauga

So many dry clean / laundry stores for sale?

I have zero business experience and I'm just starting to do some research on purchasing existing small business and I saw many dry cleaners for sale on mls. Anyone know why? They all said they are very profitable and have a large client base and potential. If they are all doing so well, why would so many of them give up their own business?
10 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 15, 2003
1407 posts
16 upvotes
I'd be awful concerned about environmental issues. They tend to use some harsh chemicals, and I read something a while ago about the industry reacting to this - negatively.

If you're looking to buy a business, consider the following:
- a franchise may be a good idea. Some pros, some cons to this.
- buy into something you really like doing. Or conversely, find something you really like doing and look for a related business.
- compare the cost of buying a business vs. the cost of starting the same business fresh.
Jul 4, 2005
262 posts
4 upvotes
Markham
your working hours are probably 8am-8pm
Deal Fanatic
Aug 19, 2001
5086 posts
27 upvotes
Vancouver
Drycleaning seems to be such an annoying job. It's a valid reason to sell.

However... MOST businesses for sale are NOT money makers. I have seen tonnes of businesses for sale right when they are about to default on leases, faced with expensive maintenance, etc. or just have been a money-pit since they opened and the owner is sick of it!

I looked at one laundromat for sale... it's a cushy job, but you need someone onsite all the time to keep the place clean, make change, sell detergent, etc. ... no way in heck I wanna do that!! it's good for some people though, like if they have otherwise unemployable family (really poor english etc.) they want to put in a job.
Jun 5, 2003
145 posts