Careers

Software Engineer, a protected job title?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 27th, 2018 9:55 pm
Tags:
None
Sep 30, 2012
305 posts
42 upvotes
Hamilton
Anonymouse wrote: Me, I got an EE degree and after taking a few (I think it was three) courses, the university gave me a CS degree as well. So I feel perfectly entitled to call myself a software engineer if I want, and I'm pretty sure PEO would have no problem with it.
The university gave you a CS degree after 3 or 4 courses? Is this a real university? Because I doubt a real accredited university would give out their CS degrees that easy even if you previously had an EE degree.
Deal Addict
Jan 10, 2007
1863 posts
344 upvotes
Woodbridge
that will lead to the belief that the person may engage in the practice of professional engineering;
this is where a lot of people get hung up. IMO, the term "engineer" in itself does NOT lead the the belief that someone can practice professional engineering. Especially if have whatever job inside a big company and barely interact with clients. No one cares.

If you run around using the term "engineer", advertise and use fake stamps...then ya thats a problem. But those are rare cases and the peo does a good job of dealing with those types.

If you are in a job where a stamp isnt technically needed(the VAST MAJORITY of engineering work is this way)...then what difference does it make?

If you have "engineer" in your title and someone asks you to engage in a professional endeavour, you say...no.
Banned
Nov 19, 2014
910 posts
248 upvotes
LandKing wrote: lots of low self esteem engineers in this thread it seems who seem to lack self confidence in their actual abilities and try to increase their standing by letters after their names of job titles of others with chest thumping of a designation that's not even recognized outside of the province. but it's absurd unless these are jaded unemployed/underemployed engineers why they care so much about job titles of other companies.