Sony A6000 Kit Lens vs Sony RX100 III

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 1st, 2017 1:45 pm
Oct 3, 2012
121 posts
21 upvotes
Scarborough

Sony A6000 Kit Lens vs Sony RX100 III

I was wondering if I don't plan to upgrade the 16-55mm lens on the Sony a6000 to something better should I get the RX100 III or A6000? I am new to photography so by the time I do want better lens I will just by a new camera. I plan to use these camera for travelling and take architecture pictures.
8 replies
Deal Expert
Jun 15, 2012
15662 posts
10440 upvotes
Southern Ontario
You gain a bit of depth of field and lowlight noise advantage with the larger sensor in the A6000, whereas the RX100III is more portable. If you really have no intention of getting primes or better zooms, I'd stick with the RX. Composition and editing are bigger factors given you're not changing lenses.
Deal Expert
Mar 6, 2003
19712 posts
13576 upvotes
Ottawa
There isn't much advantage to the A6000 if you never switch lenses. If you do switch a much sharper prime lens, then that's when the A6000 shines.

Technically, you lose about 2 stops of light sensitivity with the A6000 kit lens on the widest angle, but the much larger sensor will gain back 2 stops, so it balances out pretty evenly.
Please update your profile to include your city https://forums.redflagdeals.com/ucp.php?i=ucp_profile&mode=profile_info
Deal Addict
Sep 26, 2007
4156 posts
522 upvotes
I had the a6000 for 2 years
recently got the rx100

the ergonomics on the rx is pretty terrible, but understandstable given its size
well-lit conditions the RX is noticeably better since superior optics
low light is worse due to its small sensor....I didn't use the 16-50mm kit lens much in low light so I cant remember how bad it was

I think a6000 is the better camera for beginners...it's much more flexible if you decide to grow into it. It also has phase-detection AF where RX100 III doesn't if you want to shoot dogs/kids/sports