Cell Phones

Speakout data and android... calling all users for tips/tricks.

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 29th, 2016 9:55 am
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Mar 28, 2006
9380 posts
1286 upvotes
Hi, I am new to Speakout. I see the AP settings in OP but can somebody point me to how to setup wireless hotspot and autoproxy with Speakout on Android devices? thanks!!!

btw, I head the $10 "unlimited" browsing plan actually has a 2GB limit, is that true?
Dec 23, 2007
471 posts
11 upvotes
Calgary
Is Skype working with SO now? It used to work on my other Galaxy S2, but not on my present one :( . I am on Jelly Bean 4.1.2. Or is there any similar app like Skype that work? Thanks.
Deal Addict
Apr 12, 2010
1718 posts
348 upvotes
Scarborough
I ported out on Friday to Petro... How come it's still not ported out yet? I live in Toronto. How long does it usually take?
Deal Addict
Feb 1, 2012
1514 posts
269 upvotes
Gatineau
Devotion wrote:
Dec 31st, 2012 2:41 pm
I ported out on Friday to Petro... How come it's still not ported out yet? I live in Toronto. How long does it usually take?
about a week according to my aunt
Deal Addict
Apr 12, 2010
1718 posts
348 upvotes
Scarborough
kwanyeung20 wrote:
Dec 31st, 2012 3:15 pm
about a week according to my aunt
You're joking right? They told me 1-3 business days. If it's a week, I won't have service....
Deal Addict
Nov 6, 2003
1182 posts
83 upvotes
I haven't purchased a SO sim yet. I'm still trying to figure out how to get only a data plan onto my smart phone (I don't want voice or text messaging on my plan.) I basically want to use my smart phone as a hotspot for my laptop so I can travel around.

I see that SO provides a data plan for $10/month. Are there any other charges that I will incur ? How much is a SIM card ? What is the bandwidth limit per month ? What speeds to most people get in Ottawa ?

If I buy a $50 card and assuming I cancel the data plan after 1 month, how long will I be able to keep the remaining balance before it expires ?
May 19, 2005