Cell Phones

Speakout data and android... calling all users for tips/tricks.

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 29th, 2016 9:55 am
Tags:
None
Jun 11, 2011
449 posts
137 upvotes
Sorry guys im new to android and i have no clue what this is. Can somone Explain it to me breifly?
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jul 15, 2003
2100 posts
198 upvotes
Ontario, Canada
blueraiin wrote:
Jun 26th, 2011 4:44 pm
2 questions:

First, cross posted from the other thread:

Did anyone buy the SO promo phone for $20 (with min $50 activation card) http://www.speakout7eleven.ca/promot...-off-any-phone instead of buying a sim card for $25? Benefits I see are it's $5 cheaper than buying a sim straight out, as long as you were planning to buy $50 worth of credit (which has a year expiry anyways), plus you get a phone and the sim right away.

Am I missing any downsides here?
That's how i got my original speakout phone way back over a year ago. It was buy a $100 activation and get the cheapest phone free. I was using that phone until i bought the optimus one last week. There's not downside. Also it gives you a backup phone. if for some reason your optimus dies, you can stick the sim card in that cheap phone and at least have a working cellphone while you fix the good one.
blueraiin wrote:
Jun 26th, 2011 4:44 pm
Second question:
In order to get ASProxy to work, the phone must be rooted, correct? Is this still the best method to unlock the LG Optimus One from Koodo? http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1001713. If so, does anyone have a working link to the Telus firmware (V10G_00.kdz), the link in those instructions does not work. I searched V10G_00.kdz and found some files on 4shared and such, but they don't seem to work.

Thanks for the help!

I used gingerbreak. from the root instructions on androidforums.
http://androidforums.com/optimus-one-al ... 011-a.html

I just copied the gingerbreak apk to the phone and ran it. one click root. I have the koodo lg optimus one though. 2.2.1. lg-p500h-v10v
Apr 10, 2011